Ice Fishing at Birch Lake

One of Maple’s most favorite things to do is go ice fishing – and who could blame him? Hot coffee, an ice shack, a good fire, some ham and cheese sandwiches and color this girl happy.

To be entirely truthful, I’d never gone ice fishing prior to meeting Maple, but after the first time I knew I was hooked. Granted, my first time was a bit of a trial by fire, due to the fact that it was -60 Fahrenheit and we were in a ice shack with a broken wood stove and completely iced over holes – but we still managed to have a good time. It was during this trip that Maple and I started our tradition of getting ice cream after ice fishing (though that first time I believe Maple was bribing me to stay out for another twenty minutes or so so he could keep catching fish). The lure of ice cream, not fish, is what gets me out of bed at 6:30 in the morning on a Sunday.

beautifultanana

mapled7

This year couldn’t have been more different – the weather was about 40 degrees above zero (for January in Fairbanks this is beyond bizarre) – and the ice was covered in about an inch of standing water. Auguring through all the holes was a breeze (especially because our friends had brought their gas auger) and all four of us contentedly fished whilst eating through an enormous amount of snacks. I was super pumped because I caught two fish (a 200% increase from last year) and all in all the whole group caught almost a dozen Arctic Char and Rainbow Trout. We all met up at Snowbasin for a big ol’ fish fry – which was delicious.

lovelylight

We couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful day. I didn’t edit these photos at all – the light in Fairbanks is really just this breathtakingly beautiful. I am very grateful to raise children in such a gorgeous place.

sunriseCheers and Love,

Maple and Me

One thought on “Ice Fishing at Birch Lake

  1. Pingback: Ice Fishing Hat | Ice Fishing Fun

Leave a Reply

