A Coat Tree – Sort Of

I’ll be the first to admit that not all my ‘crafty’ ideas work out as well as I so idealistically dream them in my head. Everyone knows the whole ‘Pinterest Fails’ meme, right? Those people are my crafty soul mates.

Take for instance my idea for a ‘Coat Tree’.

Right when Maple first moved into the Garagehome (before I met him) he asked his good friend Pegls to paint a black spruce tree on the wall. I loved this tree when I first came to the house and the tree has remained untouched through many, many building projects despite taking up a large chunk of a very convenient section of wall right next to the door.

553191_816438653872_1294300807_n When we were building the wall to ceiling shelves in this area it necessitated getting rid of the coat rack (a good thing too, as it turned out it was only being held on by one screw). I’d had what I thought was a brilliant idea of putting little hooks all around the tree (but not hurting the paint) which would lead to coats looking like they were hanging off the tree all quaint and simple.

I neglected two factors in this idea. First, that tree is tiny, take a look at it. And Maple and myself own a large quantity of large, down-filled winter coats. Two, winter coats are really heavy and we ended up having to brace them on something sturdier than a wee hook or two.

603985_816438773632_1915555034_n1422433_816438968242_661229005_n

In the end we had to put a piece of plywood over the tree and then with all the coats on the plywood it became very hard to actually see the tree. I was a little disappointed that so much of the tree disappeared but I’m trying to focus on the positive. We now have a place to put coats and, from the right perspective, it looks like we have two little tree paintings, on above the plywood, one below the coats.

Cheers and Love,

Maple and Me

2 thoughts on “A Coat Tree – Sort Of

Leave a Reply

