Unexpectedly Expecting

Hey everyone – I’m pregnant! And while it’s a little earlier than Maple and myself had planned for we still couldn’t be happier – or more excited.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to break the news (something I’ve learned over the past few weeks is that I’m pretty awkward when I tell people). However, since pretty much every project we do, thought I have and life shift I’m making these days has something to do with babies, I thought I’d just out and say it.

Maple and I are going to welcome a little human into this world in early April (for those keeping count that means our wee Garagehome will house one baby, two adults and three canines). We’re not finding out the sex of the baby – it’ll just be one big surprise.

I’m always humbled by the incredibly generous community that Maple and myself live in. As we’ve told friends and family our exciting news we’ve been given baby clothes, baby toys, backpacks, maternity clothes and offers of many other miscellaneous items. Maple and myself are going to keep living with minimally running water, the house is still 3-5 years out for being totally completed and we’re not quite sure what’s going to happen with the ol’ work situations. As someone who needs to have a plan at all times it’s hard not to feel a little overwhelmed – but then I think of the community that we live, work and create in, and I know we’ll pull through just fine.

I’ve just bought one thing so far for the wee one – the onesie that Salmon Sisters sell. I couldn’t resist – Alaskan made, my favorite store AND a perfect fit for a wee hipster babe? Sold.

il_570xN.487491656_5awuCheers and Love,

Maple and Me

15 thoughts on “Unexpectedly Expecting

  1. Oh Congratulations you guys!! Delighted for you both! Welcome to the parenthood community – 9 weeks membership so far and gotta say We’re loving it and I know you guys will too!!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE to you all!!
    Jayne, Rob, Jack

    • Thanks Leah! I’m sure we’re all going to have the most, bestest, rambunctious group of little ones that Fairbanks has seen yet! much love back to you and Cam! xoxo

  2. Your little nugget will be so loved (Salmon sisters is one of my favorites too) and it really does all fall in place. Congrats momma!

    • Thanks Trista! Now we can dumpster dive for baby clothes together! We can also do a co-blog of ‘Best Dressed Baby at the Transfer Site’…sort of an ‘Arrogantly Shabby for Tots’, I think this could go places!

  3. I am so excited! My first grand baby!!!!!!!! Congratulations! This is going to be a loved little one. Prayers and heart felt wishes for a healthy journey.

    Love to all three of you,

    Betty

  4. congrats anna i’m so happy for you! and jayne delighted to hear all is well your way.
    we are having a ball in brisbane. loving it!
    good luck with the bump anna! and enjoy every precious moment of little jack jayne.
    love ye loads
    triona

Leave a Reply

