The Liebster Award – A Nomination!

WELL.

I got a comment the other day (when I randomly checked my blog amongst all the celebrating) from Radical Farmwives (one of my fave blogs) letting me know that they had nominated me for the Liebster Award! I was beyond psyched to say the least. Not only is it incredibly flattering to me that Radical Farmwives reads and likes my blog – but it was an award (and who isn’t flattered to be recognized?)

It took a few days for everything to settle down and when I actually went back and looked at the Radical Farmwives blog entry I saw that there was a process that I was supposed to do. So, a little late, but better than never, here is my Liebster Award post!

As the folks over at Radical Farmwives stated so well, the Liebster Award is a way for new bloggers to highlight/encourage other new bloggers – and it’s pretty cool! The ladies over at Radical Farmwives summarized the Liebster rules pretty well, so I’ll just copy and paste real quick:

Liebster rules!

  • Thank the person that nominated you and link back up to their blog.
  • Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
  • Nominate some unknown number of other blogs with less than 200 followers, unknown because some say 10, others 11, others less.
  • Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them, including a link back to your post.

Here are the questions from Radical Farmwives and my answers.

1. Do you read fiction or non-fiction?

I tend to read a lot more fiction than non-fiction, though I enjoy reading history books and books about theatre theory. I love romance novels (hey HBB!!) and usually read 2-3 a week.

2. What do you eat for breakfast?

I’ve been working on being more consistent about eating breakfast – primarily since I started working an 8-5 job. Right now I eat a banana and some Fage yoghurt.

3. What is your favorite tree?

Birch.

4. How long can you go without checking your phone or email?

On weekends I’ll often go for both days without checking my email (unless I’m doing a theatre project, then I’ll check the Revive the Red Tent email daily). I check my phone daily (and get kind of twitchy if I forget it on a weekday), though I do like just ‘forgetting’ it sometimes on the weekend.

5. What is your favorite body of water?

The Tanana River, which flows through Fairbanks, gives Maple and myself Burbot, beautiful walks and a sense of peace to be around.

6. Name a place you haven’t been that you would like to go.

Norway. Maple and I are pinching our pennies to hopefully go in Fall 2014.

7. Do you feel like you are living in the most appropriate time period for your personality/values?

This question really made me think! While I don’t personally jive with a lot of current pop culture (it dismays me that Miley Cyrus is somehow news), I do feel that this time period works pretty well for me. I appreciate and respect the work that so many activists have done so that the society I currently live in is able to have evolving discussions about sexism, homophobia, racism, classicm etc. There’s still a lot of work to do, but I prefer this work to do rather than the crazy I would feel in the 1800’s.

8. If you could invite anyone to join you for a dinner party, who would it be?

Elizabeth LeCompte, the main founder of the Wooster Group (though I might be a little too intimidated to actually say anything).

9. What would you serve?

Salmon and salad. And maybe biscuits (I would cook for Elizabeth LeCompte).

10. What is/was your most extreme dietary choice (vegan/freegan/raw)?

I was vegan for a few weeks when I was a freshman in college. And then I realized that I could never eat cheese again. I quickly went back to being a vegetarian.

Now for my nominees:

1. Bunchberry Farms

2. Being Schlo-Hard

3. A Bottle of Bollinger

4. a life less ordinary

5. Art – Work – Play

6. Stumble Love

7. Fairbanks Arts Scene

8. Campy Attributes

9. Sew Much HeART

10. Best Robots Forever

And my questions for them are:

1. What is your favorite season?

2. What is your go-to comfort food?

3. What is one skill you are working on right now?

4. What teaches you patience?

5. Who is your fashion role model?

6. Do you have a particular blog that you really admire? If so, which one?

7. When you were younger what did you want to do when you were older? How do that differ (or coincide) from what you’re doing now?

8. What is your guilty pleasure?

9. What was one piece of art that was incredibly formative to you?

10. What are three things you are grateful for right now?

Thanks again Radical Farmwives – this was super fun!

Cheers and Love,

Maple and Me

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award – A Nomination!

Leave a Reply

