Celebratory Celebrating Pt. I

Whoo, it’s been a little while! As faithful readers already know, Maple and myself got legally hitched last December when we’d eloped. Prior to eloping we’d already decided to throw a little shindig in August – so that family and friends could celebrate with us. Well, our ‘little shindig’ quickly became a ‘massive party’ that roughly 250 people were invited to attend. Thank goodness for potlucks, that’s all I’m going to say.

Honestly though, everything turned out perfectly. I truly have the best friends and family a gal could ask for. Three of my bestest gals were responsible for making the cake, creating (by hand!) all decorations from recycled goods and fabric, throwing me an AMAZING Bridalette party, decorating the Community Center and rallying volunteers to help with all the details that I always forget about when throwing a party. These ladies deserve a special shout-out because I seriously did nothing for the Ceremony or my Bridalette party or the Reception. I picked some wildflowers and collected a few tin cans. And that was it. Mina from Bunchberry Farms, Schlo from Being Schlo-Hard, and Mol (who does not have a blog) are truly the bestest friends a gal could ask for and I am lucky to have ’em.

Another troupe of friends rallied and helped us clear the land, move a ton of (incredibly heavy) duck pens, wood pens, stoves and bathtubs (things most normal people have around their yards). House guests staying out on our property (who had come all the way from Kentucky) cut and stacked all the extra wood laying around and spread yards and yards of gravel, all with the the incredibly good attitude of true friends.

Family was present in full force as well. My sister showed up early to help me clean and prepare the home for all the extra house guests. She also splurged on flower crowns for her and me for the ceremony (a special treat that she knew I wanted). My brother built us a beautiful birch arbor for our Ceremony. My dad did a ton of yard work. My moms arrived to cook us good food and make sure all mementos that were necessary for the Ceremony were present and accounted for. Maple’s brother and sister did a ton of yard work as well as picking blueberries in the pouring rain so we could have blueberry ice cream at the Reception. Maple’s father was everywhere at once buying supplies, chatting with guests, playing with dogs and generally being a wonderful presence. Aunts and Uncles came all the way up from California and Minnesota to share the day with us, took us out to nice dinners and were generally wonderful people. Our wonderful friend Chrissy came up and took some of the best Celebratory photos we could have hoped for.

The week before the Ceremony was busy and hectic – as they always are.

Pre-arbor.

Pre-arbor.

I demonstrate (with Sabine's graceful help) where the arbor will go.

I demonstrate (with Sabine’s graceful help) where the arbor will go.

The chickens are present, always.

The chickens are present, always.

The day before the Ceremony we had a small barbecue for everyone who’d traveled up to see us. Since many of our guests were from out of town we wanted to give them some true Alaskan fare. Moose ribs, some of our meat birds from the summer and Chitina salmon were the fare on the table. Two of our friends, Kurt and Johanna, made some amazing tamales that were pretty much the hit of the party.

Burn barrel at the barbecue.

Burn barrel at the barbecue.

The fare.

The fare.

Alex! (And Snorri and Dasha.)

Alex! (And Snorri and Dasha.)

The actual day of the Ceremony we were so honored to have so many guests come to share the day with us. For someone who does not cook, I sure know a lot of excellent cooks because our potluck was out. of. the. park. I arrived on location armed with wildflowers and tablecloths (from the mothers). Table decorations consisted of wildflowers in tin cans decorated with lace and twine (courtesy of Schlo and Mina). Alex and Molly were courteous enough to take photos of the set-up, these photos are all theirs.

Gen and I arrive on site.

Gen and I arrive on site.

Meeting Mol.

Meeting Mol.

The flower making brigade!

The flower making brigade!

Orange juice and mimosas.

Orange juice and mimosas.

Meredith and I took a moment.

Meredith and I take a moment.

The Ceremony was beautiful, absolutely beautiful. Mina performed the Ceremony and she did a wonderful job. The following photos of the Ceremony are all courtesy of Chrissy (except when otherwise noted).

Getting my flower crown on.

Getting my flower crown on.

_MG_0027

Gen getting her crown.

Gen getting her crown.

_MG_0034_MG_0036

People say we look alike.

People say we look alike.

Love.

Love.

Pre-Ceremony with Aunty Carolyn, Papa and Kel.

Pre-Ceremony with Aunty Carolyn, Papa and Kel.

Maple and his Men.

Maple and his Men.

Hipsters.

Hipsters.

Mina made this banner for me. I LOVE IT.

Mina made this banner for me. I LOVE IT.

The Maple siblings - a finer bunch you'll never meet. (And Matt hipster-ing it up in the background).

The Maple siblings – a finer bunch you’ll never meet. (And Matt hipster-ing it up in the background).

The Ceremony begins.

The Ceremony begins.

Moment of Silence.

Moment of Silence.

_MG_0102

_MG_0105_MG_0106_MG_0109

California Family.

California Family with Papa and Laurie.

Minnesota-Iowa Family.

Minnesota-Iowa Family with the mothers.

The Maples!

The Maples!

My buttresses.

My buttresses.

My heaving bosom buddies.

My heaving bosom buddies.

Me and my brother (the builder of the beautiful backdrop arbor).

Me and my brother (the builder of the beautiful backdrop arbor).

Me and Mina.

Me and Mina.

We love each other.

We love each other, eight years strong.

Everyone who came from Kentucky. We have good friends.

Everyone who came from Kentucky. We have good friends.

How'd we get such great photos? Because Alex was doing this the whole time (Styrofoam courtesy of TS).

How’d we get such great photos? Because Alex was doing this the whole time (Styrofoam courtesy of TS).

Me and my beautiful sister.

Me and my beautiful sister.

Up close.

Up close.

Dear friends.

Dear friends.

And we're off!

And we’re off!

Tune in later this week for part two! We take a bunch more photos, we eat Falafel, we play kickball and the Worst Band in Fairbanks makes a surprise debut!

Cheers and Love,

Maple and Me

4 thoughts on “Celebratory Celebrating Pt. I

Leave a Reply

