Weekly Wednesday

I woke up this morning to the news that DOMA had been overturned. Pretty amazing news regarding a piece of legislation that should never have become law in the first place! I’m proud for my mothers, my friends and my community; it’s a good Wednesday. (The decision regarding the Voter’s Rights Act was reprehensible however.)

I’m on day four of no coffee. None. At all. While I float/flounder/flop through my daily activities I keep my eye on the prize. I’m alert when I wake up. My skin is happy. When I have kids in a few years I’ll have to quit coffee for real anyway. But for right now? I think of an iced americano (with cream) the same way that a child longs for a toy. One week is my goal – just to prove to myself that I can do it. Then it’s some half-caff coffee for this gal!

Wendy Davis is one of my new heroes. This amazing woman filibustered an anti-choice bill (for eleven hours!) that would have essentially shut down every abortion clinic in Texas. I’m proud that there are lawmakers like Wendy Davis representing their constituents.

A few photos from the week –

Early morning drive. A cow moose and her very young calf were startled by me.

Early morning drive. A cow moose and her very young calf were startled by me.

She chose not to look at me...

She chose not to look at me…

We built a new shelf in the back area. These are the main supports (drilled into the wall studs).

We built a new shelf in the back area. These are the three main supports (drilled into the wall studs).

Shelf grows! The entire shelf is about 7 ft long x 10 ft tall.

Shelf grows! The entire shelf is about 7 ft long x 10 ft tall.

All finished! The locker baskets fit perfectly...

All finished! The locker baskets fit perfectly…

999341_797611882872_296495402_n

New art from  ! The llama is a lovely blue and it reads, "Banish all negative thought." I put it on my desk at work.

New art from Alex Brooks! The llama is a lovely blue and it reads, “Banish all negative thought.” I put it on my desk at work.

Last week was one of my best buddies' birthdays. Here's us performing Improv together.

Last week was one of my best buddies’ birthdays. Here’s us performing Improv together. Happy Birthday Mol!

Ceremony dreaming...this dress would be perfect (and is unfortunately sold out until early August...) New plans have been developed - keep an eye out for Fashion Friday!

Ceremony dreaming…

This dress above was found by Ms. Mina on Pinterest and then by Ms. Schlo on Etsy (could I ASK for better girlfriends??) and would be perfect for the ceremony – but is unfortunately sold out until early August…

New plans have been developed for Ceremony Fashion – keep an eye out for the upcoming Fashion Friday!

Cheers and Love,

Maple and Me

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wednesday

Leave a Reply

