Weekly Wednesday

Listening to this wonderful poem by Buddy Wakefield. Take six minutes and fifty-three seconds out of your day. You deserve it.

Learning that I can still get very, very angry. The Steubenville rape trial has sickened, shocked and angered me. I have so much respect and well wishes for the 16-year-old Jane Doe whose life must be absolutely wretched right now. I light a candle for her right now and hope that she knows that there are millions of women around the world who are supporting, praising and admiring her.

One of the better articles that I have read on the trial, Steubenville and rape culture in America is this one by Laurie Penny. My sister posted it on Facebook and it’s one of the first articles I’ve read that has really resonated with me. The other article that I’ve really resonated with reading was this one by Mia McKenzie (also found via Facebook.)

Loving all the beautiful men who I am so lucky to know. I am surrounded by men who truly respect, value and love women and I am incredibly aware of and grateful for that.

One thought on “Weekly Wednesday

  1. Isn’t it good to know that not all people are like that? It’s so frustrating to hear of things like this happening. But so good to know that there are systems in place enforce justice for these situations.

Leave a Reply

