A Very Quick Elopement

I have always understood people’s fascination with photos of themselves. There’s something very appealing about seeing your face from different perspectives and distances. Seeing parts of your body that you don’t see on a daily basis (the back of your head, your back, your heels) and reconciling that these unfamiliar images belong to you, that you use them everyday.

When Maple and I decided to elope the main word we were working with was ‘minimal.’ (Unlike the celebration in August that friends and family will be invited to; the working title of which is currently ‘Hipster-Hitched-Farmhouse-FABULOUS-Indie-DIY’) We eloped in the Fairbanks Arts Association Bear Gallery (where we first met) and our marriage officiant was June Rogers. Maple’s pants and suspenders and my tights were from the TS. My dress was a vintage 1950’s frock from Chartreuse (local, amazing store.) Our shoes were the nicest parts of our respective outfits; mine being designer John Fleuvog shoes from years ago and Maple’s being his birthday Steger Mukluks. Our photographers doubled as our witnesses, and the Volunteer Docent came into the Bear Gallery to watch. After the brief ceremony, we all sat around chatting for an hour before taking some pictures.

My dear, dear friend Molly was our main photographer (her husband Scott was our back-up photographer/witness) and she was amazing. Not only did she take beautiful photos, she was more organized about our brief ceremony than we were, bringing silver ribbon to tie my flowers with (and reminding us to get flowers), scrabble tiles to spell out words (Scrabble holding an especially dear place in my heart) and plenty of photo ideas.

Following are some of my favorite photos that Molly took. Now, after having the experience of standing in front of the man I love and telling him why I want to spend the rest of my life with him, I understand another layer of why ceremony/baby photos hold a special grip on people – there’s something entirely quixotic about seeing photos of yourself with an expression of utter happiness and bliss on your face.

Getting ready. Both Jasmine and I have worn this pin when we got married.

Getting ready. Both Jasmine and I have worn this pin when we got married.

Tying up the hair.

Tying up the hair.

Laughing. In my hair is my 'something blue.' A gift from Mol.

Laughing. In my hair is my ‘something blue.’ A gift from Mol.

Just prior to our little elopement ceremony.

Just prior to our little elopement ceremony.

Saying my vows.

Saying my vows.

Justin saying his vows. (This is the happiest I have ever looking in any photo. Ever.)

Justin saying his vows. (This is the happiest I have ever looked in any photo. Ever.)

June reading our blessing. The poem 'Desiderata' from a card that she had been saving for 30 years.

June reading our blessing. The poem ‘Desiderata’ from a card that she had been saving for 30 years.

And then we were legally married.

And then we were legally married.

It was a good moment.

It was a good moment.

A very good moment indeed.

A very good moment indeed.

Scrabble!

Scrabble!

L-O-V-E

L-O-V-E

Happiness.

Happiness.

Shoes.

Shoes.

The following photos are an ode to my sister, and our endless fascination with taking hipster photos of ourselves (the ‘hipster sisters’ as it were.)

Enough happiness. Time for hipsters.

Enough happiness. Time for hipsters.

Marriage is okay...I guess.

Marriage is okay…I guess.

I mean...if you're into that kind of thing...'marriage.'

I mean…if you’re into that kind of thing…’marriage.’

Cheers and love,

Maple and Me

Happy-happy-kissing-kissing.

Happy-happy-kissing-kissing.

6 thoughts on “A Very Quick Elopement

  1. The scrabble letters are so totally … totally… ummm… APPROPRIATE… yeah m I think that is the right word (although with three P tiles and 10 letters it would be hard to play in a game 🙂

  2. Oh man I just started crying. I Love your message at the top about seeing another side of yourself in photos as happy as others do… and Happiness photo is the happiest I have ever seen you. You are both beautiful and charmed. Ugh. I mean, if you like that kind of thing… like… beauty… I guess.

Leave a Reply

