Art, Art, Art! (and Marriage.)

Last Friday was the UAF Art Sale. Maple and myself were super excited about this – seeing as how we had been saving for a month. Maple and myself live on a pretty tight budget; saving for building a home (and hopefully kiddos in a couple years) does not leave one with a huge surplus of cash. However, as a couple, one item that Maple and myself are both willing to drop some cash on is art.

During my time at the Fairbanks Arts Association (where I worked for a little over a year) I met so many artists of the community and worked with many of them in a variety of venues. As an extra perk now when I go to an art sale, I usually know (at least casually and sometimes very well) many of the artists.

The art sale was absolutely wonderful this year! Our budget for buying some pottery and prints this year was also a little padded due to a generous engagement gift from my Grandma Doris. Due to a last minute Staff Meeting at my work Maple and I went separately to the sale. This was actually a blessing in disguise as it allowed me to buy Maple his Solstice gift (which I then surprised him with later that night.)

Oh, and P.S. I eloped this weekend. I’ll have a post on it later this week once I have photos of the event. But suffice and to the point, my elopement was sweet, simple and perfect. Maple and myself are having a big ol’ Celebration in August to celebrate with friends and family, so look for more posts on Celebratory commitment shtuff in the future…

Beautiful bowl.

Beautiful bowl.

I love white interior glazes.

I love white interior glazes.

This bowl didn't photograph quite right, but it's a beautiful color.

This bowl didn’t photograph quite right on the outside, but the interior color showed up nicely.

Plate.

Plate.

Maple got two of these plates by himself. Then I got one as well when I went. They were nice plates.

Maple got two of these plates by himself. Then I got one as well when I went. They were nice plates.

Lovely Loon by our dear friend Gail Priday.

Lovely ‘Loon’ by our dear friend Gail Priday.

Justin's Solstice gift, 'Reindeer Circle' by my other dear friend, Klara Maisch.

Justin’s Solstice gift, ‘Reindeer Circle’ by my other dear friend, Klara Maisch.

New Art on Walls. Always a wonderful thing to see!

New Art on Walls. Always a wonderful thing to see!

Cheers and Love,

Maple and Me

6 thoughts on “Art, Art, Art! (and Marriage.)

    • Thanks Johanna! I thought you’d like that Reindeer one. Klara does a bunch of Scando-Norweigan stuff that I was pretty sure you and Maple would be on the same page on…

Leave a Reply

