A Garagehome is a House Like Any Other – Sometimes.

Most days we return to the Garagehome and our little room is sweet and homey (albeit a little chilly, the fire having gone out in the Wood stove a few hours ago.) But the lights are on, the dogs happy to see us, and as Maple makes a fire and I put away the various sundry odds and ends, things are happy and calm. Maple will make dinner soon, and we will talk about the day we just had, and our plans for the next.

And then there are the days (like last Thursday) where we come home to find that the dogs have pooped in three different places on the floor (this is where the house being chilly becomes almost a blessing in disguise – it cuts down slightly on the smell) and the entire front left window has frozen ice and mold in all the seams. Whilst some might sit and long for a home that was a) built for people to live in for 40+ years, not 2-3 years while the Homehome is being built and thus would have prime ventilation and b) running water; Maple and I had an odd moment of simultaneous productive symbiosis.

“I’ll bring in the water jugs if you clean up the poop.” Maple offers. (Anyone thinking this is a bad offer just know, hauling 6 water jugs at 5-7 gallons of water apiece (therefore roughly 35-45 pounds each) is pretty much exactly the equivalent of cleaning up three piles of dog feces.)

“If we clear all this stuff off the windowsill that has black mold on it, and screw this shelf into the wall that’ll de-clutter it. Do you like how that looks?” I offer in return.

Ironically, I like this new look better (LOVE box shelves screwed into walls, thank you TS!) I also call this new wall, “The Maple Wall.” Maple has a fondness for all things Scandinavian, including the stark, simple, almost Spartan look of much of the architecture. I love the homey clutter that is reminiscent of all the children’s books I read when I was young that involved young/old women living alone in tiny, cluttered homes. The resultant effort of the Garagehome is a mix of the two, but it definitely errs on my side of home décor (I have the advantage of Maple being a cluttered collector who frequently forgets what he already has at home, and brings two more of the same home from the TS.) This wall currently stands alone in the house as the one vestige of Maple’s own aesthetic design, though a tree print and mirror were added a day later.

As much as the Garagehome frustrates me some day there is always one reassuring thought: We own it. We can paint the walls, build interior walls and design and refine and redefine as much as we want. And when mold grows (as mold will) we just adjust accordingly.

The new windowsill has been modified from my altar of physical well-being (through good eating) to my altar of simplicity. To constantly remind myself that simplicity is not a bad thing, in fact, sometimes it looks pretty good.

The old look of the windowsill. Silently collecting ice and mold…

 

No one wants to find this in their home.

Ice, ice, ice.

Maple fixes.

The new ‘Maple Wall.’ Wood circle is from a tree Maple cut down. He cut off this 1″ thick slice and painted it black. Jars, print, mirror and shelf (and everything inside shelf) are from the TS.

Close-Up

Altar of Simplicity

2 thoughts on “A Garagehome is a House Like Any Other – Sometimes.

  1. Love it! What good teamwork, Anna. I have my own altar action going here after too long without it and it truly does contribute to one’s sense of well being!

    • Amazing isn’t it? The funny thing was I didn’t even think how many altars I had til I wrote that blog post…I think I need to gear up for ‘Altars: Part 2″ 🙂 xoxo!

Leave a Reply

